Home News 64th National Film Awards 2017: Akshay Kumar bags Best Actor for ‘Rustom’

64th National Film Awards 2017: Akshay Kumar bags Best Actor for ‘Rustom’


64th National Film Awards 2017: Akshay Kumar bags Best Actor for ‘Rustom’ – Among all the awards, one of the most prestigious and honorable awards is termed as the National Film Awards. The 64th National Film Awards were recently announced on Friday 7th April 2017. The most talented and versatile actor from Bollywood industry Akshay Kumar bagged the Best Actor Award for his performance in patriotic movie ‘Rustom’. Rustom was a commercial successful flick which was released during the Independence Day Weekend last year. Akshay Kumar becomes one of the few mainstream heroes to win this prestigious national award.

Akshay Kumar
Akshay Kumar

Apart from ‘Rustom’, Sonam Kapoor starrer ‘Neerja’, directed by Ram Madhvani was announced as the Best Hindi Feature Film. Among the regional films, Marathi movie ‘Kaasav’ was felicitated with the best picture today. In the best director category, Rajesh Mapuskar was rewarded as the best director for his Marathi Film ‘Ventilator’.

Surabhi C M was named as the best actress for her role in Malayalam film ‘Minnaminungu-The Firefly’. ‘Dhanak’ was named as the best children film, while Telugu movie ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’ was awarded as the popular movie.

Zara Wasim, the Kashmiri actress was named as the best-supporting actress for her role in blockbuster flick ‘Dangal’.

The jury, headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan, chose Amitabh Bachchan-starrer ‘Pink’, a female-centric courtroom drama, as the best film on social issues.

Here is the complete list of winners for 64th National Film Awards

Feature Film Awards

Category Movie
Best Feature Film Kaasav (Marathi)
Best Actor Akshay Kumar (Rustom)
Best Actress Surabhi (Minnaminungu)
Best Director Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)
Best Film on Social Issues ‘Pink’
Best Supporting Actor Manoj Joshi (Dashkriya)
Best Supporting Actress Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
Best Debut Film of a Director Deep Choudari (Alifa)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’
Best Stunt Choreography Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)
Best Children’s Film Dhanak (Hindi)
Best Child Artist Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)
Best Male Playback Singer Sundara Iyer (Joker)
Best Female Playback Singer Iman Chakraborty (Praktan)
Best Screenplay (original) Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaaram)
Best Screenplay (adapted) Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)
Best Editing Rameshwar S. Bhagat (Ventilator)
Best Special Effect Award ‘Shivaay’
Sound Designer Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)
Best Production Design 24
Best Costume Designer Sachin (Marathi film)
Best Environmental film including agriculture The Tiger Who Crossed The Line
Best Make-up Artist MK Ramakrishna
Best Music Direction Babu Padmanabha (Allama)

Special Mention

  • Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)
  • Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi)
  • Majirathi Keki (Assamese)
  • Sonam Kapoor (Neerja)

Best feature films in regional languages

  • Madipur (Tulu)
  • Joker (Tamil)
  • Wrongside Raju (Gujarati)
  • Pelli Chupulu (Telugu)
  • Dashakriya (Marathi)
  • Bisarjan’ (Bengali)
  • Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam)
  • Ke Sara Sara (Konkini)
  • Reservation (Kannada)
  • Neerja (Hindi)

Special Jury award: Actor Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Also See: Baahubali: The Beginning set to Re-release in more than 1000 screens


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here